Virus Tensei Kara Isekai Kansen Monogatari Ch. 11 – Attack From a Powerful Enemy

Mio: I decided I would switch sites every ten chapters. I want to see some WordPress comments and stats on my site as well.

Around 30 minutes after defeating the Large Spider, we found ourselves in a spot surrounded by blue fruit trees.

The area had been recommended to me by a subordinate Goblin before we left to hunt.

I was told that the fruit was superb.

It was a versatile ingredient that could be used for cooking, or just eaten raw.

Blue fruit was growing everywhere. Even if you took some of it, you could harvest some again in no time at all.

I decided to see if I could infect it with the virus.

> Symptom Discovered [Fatigue Recovery I]

> Symptom Discovered [Magic Recovery I]

> Symptom Discovered [Robust I]

> Symptom Discovered [Immunization I]

I could see why it was a popular fruit, the nutritional value was quite high, as I was able to gain a lot of positive symptoms.

However, I was afraid of developing [Immunization I], so I left it alone.

If this were to kill the virus, AKA me, that’d be too stupid to be considered funny.

I ought to be careful not to play with it carelessly.

I ordered the Goblins to begin collecting the fruit, and when I took a bite of one to try it, it tasted good.

Not only was the texture of the fruit crunchy and fresh, the juices would flow freely.

In terms of taste, I found them similar to apples.

As they harvested, I sat upon a stone and watched from afar.

I’d been fighting up until that point, so I hoped that they’d forgive me.

You should never overwork yourself, it’s important to rest when you can.

“Ni…ce to… me..et y..ou, pl..ease… ta, ke… care, …of, me…?”

While I had been practicing my pronunciation and watching the Goblins harvest, I spied something off in the distance.

Resting my chin upon my hands, I stared at it.

A lump of translucent, light-green viscous liquid was writhing.

Something akin to a glass sphere floated inside of it.

Such an aberration was approaching us at a decent speed.

Obviously, it was a monster, and from how it looked, it could’ve only been one thing.

(――It’s a Slime)

As soon I was sure of it, the Slime had launched liquid over here.

I turned around, and jumped from the spot.

The liquid splashed upon the stone that I had been sitting on, and as soon as it did, white smoke began to rise from the surface as it dissolved.

(It’s… acid!?)

The Goblins who had noticed the Slime began preparing for battle.

However, I could tell from a glance that the reception was less than warm.

It was only natural, the opponent was a monster that shoots acid after all.

Fighting it in close quarters was far riskier than any other situations.

I readied my axe.

I had thrown away my sword during the battle with the Large Spider, so now I was using this.

“Ki…koro…su”

I made my approach while avoiding the acid that came in my direction.

Now, I’m not saying its movements were slow, but compared to my speed while running there was a world of difference.

I swung with the axe and cleaved through the side whilst infecting it with the virus.

> Trait Discovered [Physical Manipulation I]

> Symptom Discovered [Regeneration I]

> Symptom Discovered [Physical Resistance I]

> Symptom Discovered [Soft Body I]

> Symptom Discovered [Environmental Adaptation I]

> Symptom Discovered [Abnormal Condition Resistance I]

> Symptom Discovered [Acid Secretion I]

The axe cut directly through the slime, however, it just felt like cutting jelly and there wasn’t much response.

It didn’t seem to take any damage.

Realizing the attack failed, I immediately retreated.

As I did so, a few drops of acid that had been released landed on my arm.

“Guuu…”

With the pain came the white smoke.

As I looked at it, the skin had become sore and was bleeding, but thankfully it hadn’t reached the muscles and bones.

This wasn’t even that much, but if you were entirely covered in that stuff, it’d be over.

However, the axe that cut the slime had not melted, so it appeared the viscous body wasn’t acidic.

The acid that it threw was likely secreted somewhere from its body.

Well, the thoughts of Slime biology could come later.

(Aren’t Slimes amazing!?)

It presents itself as just a small fry monster, but it’s definitely a lot better than that.

It has some seriously powerful abilities.

Compared to all the monsters infected up until that point, it was the one with the most special skills.

I developed a detrimental symptom to prevent the slime from moving, however, the Slime was barely even hindered.

It had that kind of constitution.

The substance itself was a mystery to me.

No wonder none of the effects were working, it had [Abnormal Status Resistance I].

(The fact that the combo of infection and outbreak didn’t work is troubling…)

I clenched my teeth, with a bitter look in my eyes.

Up until this point, any enemy had been killed with a strengthened attack after it was weakened by the symptoms.

Now that I couldn’t do that, it was just a hassle.

Additionally, its acid prevented getting close, if you took that head on the results would be unbearable.

I wasn’t sure how to defeat it if physical attacks were ineffective.

I could hijack its consciousness, but I didn’t want to use that too much if I could help it.

This also counted as a form of combat training.

If I wanted to be an adventurer in order to help out Elena, I needed to be able to defeat Slimes.

With my mind set, I repeated the evasion, approach and slash.

It was guerilla warfare.

Upon hitting the Slime with an axe, I was able to reduce the total volume of the body, even if it wasn’t fatal.

But, I wasn’t totally safe.

My limbs that were hit by acid were burning, and the axe I had used for defense had begun to partially deform.

I was managing to avoid being hit in the head, which would’ve been an instant death.

If it hadn’t been for the effects of [Regeneration I], I might’ve been reduced to a lump of limbs.

(I’ll slowly lose at this rate…)

I almost leaked a sight as I was attacked yet again.

Despite the Slime becoming smaller, it showed no signs of dying yet.

Before I could finish it off, I was more likely to collapse.

I thought over what I could’ve done about it, when I suddenly had a breakthrough.

(It must be that…)

I gained some distance between myself and the Slime.

At this distance, I could avoid the acid with plenty of time to spare.

In such a short amount of times, it seemed my evasive skills had considerably improved.

While watching the writhing Slime, I developed [Magic Thread I].

Then, the thread that came from my fingertips was kneaded like clay and stretched to be a long strip.

The thread began hardening with a crackling sound, as this was a type that solidified.

“Hmm…”

I lightly tapped the stick of webbing, which had now become completely solid.

Yeah, this was good.

It had a texture similar to that of plaster, and the tip was ship and pointed.

It’d be more accurate to call it a spear, rather than a stick.

I threw the generated spear straight at the slime.

It cut through the air at a high speed, and after piercing the glass sphere-like object inside of the Slime’s body, it embedded itself deeply into a tree.

After the Slime had lost its glass ball, it began to deform and lose shape, then finally spread across the ground, immobile.

It showed no reaction afterwards.

(…Taking it down was that easy, huh)

The glass sphere inside of the Slime.

I had been watching its weak point, but I just couldn’t put enough power into the slashes or aim well enough to reach it.

However, the reason I could defeat it with the throwing spear was likely due to the magical properties of the thread.

The Slime had [Physical Resistance] after all, so conversely, it may not have had any countermeasures to attacks strengthened with magical energy.

Feeling relieved, I healed my wounds with [Regeneration I].

That sensation of being drained of magical power had returned, but now the damage caused by the acid had disappeared.

My, my, this was certainly a useful ability.

During my moment of happiness, the Goblins under my command all shouted in unison.

What the hell was the problem now?

They were probably weirded out again, but I’d have liked them to get used to it. 

I looked over to where they were looking.

A massive, two-horned bear had begun to emerge from behind the trees.

<-Previous – TOC – Next ->

Published by Mio

Ask before you pick up my novels, k? My new Discord: https://discord.gg/AmkJTEnu76 Buy me a coffee desu~: https://ko-fi.com/century_orion

4 thoughts on “Virus Tensei Kara Isekai Kansen Monogatari Ch. 11 – Attack From a Powerful Enemy

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started