Virus Tensei Kara Isekai Kansen Monogatari Ch. 12 – Overwhelming Force

(Oi, oi, what is it now…)

I stiffened up as I stared at the bear.

It was a drull-grey behemoth.

As the bear stood on its hindlegs, it began to eat the fruits.

As it tasted them, its mouth became stained with the juices.

It probably wasn’t a wild animal.

It’s probably a monster.

As I inhaled, I moved slowly as I developed [Secrecy I] and [Presence Concealment I].

I needed to get as far as possible from the bear.

[Danger Detection] had been reacting for a long time… no, even without it, I knew this situation was dangerous.

The intense feeling of intimidation was palpable enough to pierce the skin.

The twin-horned bear, as it stood tall, had an atmosphere of ferocity and wildness.

Just from this confrontation, I could easily foresee death.

A Hobgoblin was a fundamentally separate existence, and my instincts were screaming at me not to fight.

Thankfully, the Bear didn’t seem interested as it simply cut the fruit into pieces and ate them.

The air grew tenser, tighter, as I began to gently withdraw.

Taking on this guy would be too dangerous, I definitely didn’t want to do that.

(Just back away quietly. The bear will just leave me alone if I don’t provoke it…)

At that moment, a Goblin began to run.

The Goblin, brandishing its sword, lunged at the Bear.

“Gii, gigeee!”

Perhaps he had been so terrified that his body moved instinctively.

The pressure the Goblins faced must’ve been far greater than on me, no wonder they couldn’t make a rational decision.

I understood the feeling of panic, but that had been the worst option he could’ve taken.

“Gugee!”

The Goblin slashed at the Bear’s broad back, however, the blow had been blocked by the Bear’s sturdy hair and simply slid off of the surface.

Not even a single trace of damage.

It was like a natural armor, I doubted if even I could hurt it with that sword.

However, it seemed that the Goblin’s careless actions struck a nerve in the Bear.

“…..”

The bear grunted lowly, slowly turning around.

Then, he moved his arm at a blinding speed.

Claws had cleaved the Goblin’s head, as blood erupted from its neck, leaving the headless corpse to collapse onto the ground.

“Guoagaaaaaaaaaa!!”

The Bear roared, as the air around us began to tremble.

“Gege, Gugege!?”

“Guge, Guge!”

“Gegee, Guge!”

As the Bear roared, the Goblins all began attacking in unison.

They were in a state of complete panic, they didn’t treat me as their Leader at all.

The Bear killed each of the attacking Goblins one after the other.

Claws ripped them apart, with fully-grown fangs biting down on their skulls.

The twin-horns began to flicker, and they fired a pale lightning bolt at a Goblin, who easily had half of its body destroyed.

Only fragments of the charred corpse rolled to the ground.

(Shit, what am I supposed to do…!)

I bit down on my lips in worry.

The Goblins, who had been enhanced by the Virus, didn’t succeed.

The Bear wasn’t hurt.

Its fighting ability was tremendous, if I didn’t do anything then we’d all be wiped out.

(…I can’t believe I’m doing this)

I pulled the spear made of the threads that killed the slime out of the tree, and cut my hand with it.

Blood flowed out, as I smeared it over the spear.

When I had finished preparing, I looked over to the Goblins and the Bear.

The situation hadn’t changed, and there even more Goblin corpses.

Confirming that, I aimed and threw the spear made of thread.

The spear flew almost in a straight line, hitting the face of the Bear that was trying to kill another Goblin.

However, the power and hardness were still inefficient, and it shattered without even being able to penetrate the bear.

(….It’s all good)

Blood from the fragmented spear began to trickle down the Bear’s face, leading to the Bear rubbing at eyes with annoyance.

> Symptom Discovered [Lightning Resistance I]

> Symptom Discovered [Electrocution I]

> Symptom Discovered [Vitality I] 

The virus had been successfully transmitted.

The highly tough fur armor was difficult to penetrate, but it’s a different matter entirely if you aim for the eyes.

Using this method, the virus could be transmitted even from a distance.

Currently, the limit for infection via exhalation was 2 meters.

Putting that into consideration, this method was handy.

(This doesn’t fall under combat training anymore…)

The opponent was simply too strong.

No matter what you could try, the risk would be far too great.

Nearly half of all the Goblins I had brought with me had been killed, so I had to deal with this immediately.

I attempted to take over the Bear’s consciousness,  but it didn’t work.

I was met by a strong sense of resistance.

(Why…?)

I thought over the reason.

Perhaps [Domination I] lacked the necessary strength to control the bear.

This was the only thing I could think of.

At least, maybe it couldn’t be taken over if it were in a healthy state.

The outcome could change if it could be taken to the brink of death…

During my confusion, the virus that I had spread to the Bear had inexplicably vanished.

I could no longer see any red sand, and there was no response when I tried to develop any symptoms.

“Uguoaaaaaa!”

The bear roared, sending an electric current throughout its body.

(The virus was killed by electricity..?)

The virus was frail, it couldn’t even last very long in the air.

If the environment is too harsh, it would easily die out.

If my hypothesis was correct, this was the worst news possible.

It couldn’t be weakened with symptoms.

That’s when my eyes and the Bears met.

Another roar shook through the forest, and energy converged around the two horns, flickering blue and white.

–Crap, it’s coming.

While I tried to prepare myself, the light reached its climax.

Moments later, a bolt of lightning roared through the air, piercing my chest.

<-Previous– TOC – Next ->

Published by Mio

Ask before you pick up my novels, k? My new Discord: https://discord.gg/AmkJTEnu76 Buy me a coffee desu~: https://ko-fi.com/century_orion

7 thoughts on “Virus Tensei Kara Isekai Kansen Monogatari Ch. 12 – Overwhelming Force

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started