Ch. 2 – The Short Life of a Rat

Mio: I got permission from the original translator to copy his chapters.

TL: Carson
Editor: Mio

Borrowing the mouse’s body, I began moving carefully deeper into the forest.

Because of the small size, the big trees seemed to be even bigger.

Additionally, weeds and the tree roots that jutted out from the ground would get in the way.

(I was able to walk around normally when I was human…)

It was slightly inconvenient, but it wasn’t all bad.

This body was surprisingly quick.

It could even squeeze itself into tight and narrow spaces.

Navigating such a huge forest was quite interesting.

Incidentally, I noticed something while walking.

This place may not have been Earth.

Every so often, I’d see plants that I didn’t recognize.

If that were all, I’d just chalk to a lack of knowledge, but I had witnessed something that was a deciding factor.

A tree with wrinkles resembling a human face had preyed upon a small bird, capturing it with its branches.

As I’d thought, it was a monster.

Unless this was a theme park with complex, mechanical contraptions for performance purposes, it’s safe to judge that it’s extraterrestrial.

This was a so-called “Different World”.

Firstly, it’d become something akin to a comic book, or movie.

Due to the sequence of paranormal experiences that I’d suffered up to this point, accepting it was rather easy.

(Reincarnation into another world… I’m getting even more excited)

Now then, I was moving around to ascertain a feeling of control over this new rat body, but I had other things I wished to test.

Namely, figuring out my capabilities as a virus.

It’s important to know what you can do.

I heard the announcements, but it likely wasn’t so simple to be a virus.

Currently, I was already in control of the rat’s body, so proper investigation was in order.

Everything had changed since I was human, there had been a shift in my fundamental perception.

The first thing I discovered was the ability to visually perceive the virus.

As I focused, I could see the virus as red sand particles.

Is that what I am now? It was an eerie thought.

When I used this ability to examine the body of the rat, I discovered that the number of infected cells had increased in the body.

It appeared to be using normal cells for replication purposes.

If it wasn’t centered around me, it would probably be disgusting.

“Squeak…”
(TN: English onomatopoeia for “Chu…”)

Oops, I had let out a sigh.

I’d have liked to shrug my shoulders too, but it seemed to be difficult with this new body.

I almost lamented this minor inconvenience.

Well, anyways.

The second ability was the “Invocation of Traits and Symptoms”.

This was the content of that strange announcement earlier.

To explain simply, it’s the ability to freely activate or deactivate any special effects that I have acquired.

It’s similar to using skills in a game.

It’s designed to be easy to use, requiring only my thoughts.

The effects are categorized into two types, the traits appeared to be representative of the effects of the virus, or me, and symptoms appeared to represent the effect the virus has on the infected host.

The third ability was “Virus Manipulation”.

Although I was reincarnated as a virus, my consciousness remained consistent and couldn’t be separated, no matter how much I multiplied.

As I thought, it’d be a bit too laughable if every single virion had a personality.

So, with the unaware surplus of viruses, it seemed I could move them around to some extent.

Although not being as flexible as limbs, they could still be controlled while within sight.

“Squeeaak…”

I exhaled slowly.

Then, the red grains of sand fluttered out through my mouth, scattering the virus.

The virus drifted through the air for a few seconds, before finally disappearing from my sight.

I thought it must’ve died, as I felt it wearing away rapidly.

After several attempts, I discovered the virus itself was incredibly weak, and without a host, it would die very quickly.

The range that it could be sprayed via exhaling was almost limited to 2 meters.

But, I had been given the impression that it wasn’t too inconvenient, as I could trigger the traits and symptoms as the virus spread around.

(If it’s used properly, it seems pretty good…)

Spotting a flower that had bloomed nearby, I sprayed it with a virus that contained [Reproduction I] and [Infectivity I].

The red grains of sand clung tightly to the petals, eventually settling.

The virus did not die, and instead began to increase steadily in number.

> Symptom Discovered [Antipyretic I]

> Symptom Discovered [Analgesia I]

I obtained a new skill.

Apparently, by infecting something with a virus, it seems that the corresponding traits and symptoms could be acquired.

The flower I infected was probably a medicinal plant that had antipyretic and analgesic effects.

I wondered whether it could be used for medicinal purposes if I snuck the virus into someone ill, and allowed them to develop those symptoms.

When you think about it calmly, that’s actually amazing.

The term “virus” usually has negative connotations behind it, but depending on how it’s used, I could also be a doctor.

(If I took the symptoms of a variety of herbs, I could become a moving hospital…)

The infected flower swayed in the breeze beside me, and I squeaked as the tension rose.

The virus that had attached itself to the pollen flew through the air, landing itself on another plant.

Although [Replication I] had increased in number, for some reason an announcement hadn’t appeared.

(The acquisition of traits and symptoms, is it limited to the primary infectee?)

Even after the virus had flown to a new flower, I had not acquired any skills.

I felt that the infectivity was somehow weakening.

Since the trait that was most relevant was only [Infectivity I], perhaps the performance itself was weak. Perhaps [I] would become [II] in time?

I’d be happy if it could.

Anyway, at this rate, it was safe to assume that the organism can’t spread the infection properly past the secondary infection.

It’d be impossible to cause a pandemic just by leaving it alone.

It’s a shame. I’d thought this would be a lot easier.

I discovered that when other infectees were nearby, their symptoms could be changed freely.

In other words, any virus-related symptom could be rapidly exacerbated, or conversely, they could be rendered innocuous.

It was a pretty nice specification that I could accomplish just by setting my mind to it.

(I should be careful when I use this… no, seriously)

Although I was in high spirits about becoming a virus, if I felt like it, I could easily cause a vicious pandemic.

A rat would be exactly the right choice.

It’s the type of creature that is cited as a prime example of a disease vector.

(For the sake of the world, I’ll do my best. As long as it’s not too much.)

I mulled the thoughts in my head as I walked, but then my surroundings suddenly became dark.

Looking around, I could see shadows.

I could also hear rough breathing, one similar to that of a wild beast.

I felt the sharp gaze of the beast.

“Squeak…?”

I raised my head in terror.

There stood a grey-furred wolf.

It had triangular ears that stood upright, and a long muzzle with fangs poking out.

The ferocious eyes, filled with hunger, lay fixated on me.

(Oh… this situation could be bad?)

I retreated backwards slightly.

But, a single step from a rat was absolutely insignificant.

For the wolf in front of me, it was likely accounted for in its margin of error.

A gaze that remained steadfast, never wavering.

I moved first, unable to bear it.

“Squeeaaak!!”

Turning on my heels, I ran with all of my strength.

Impossible, that’s completely impossible, there’s no way I could win against that.

Even if there’s a virus, doing anything would be far too disadvantageous.

You’d be eaten before anything could develop.

However, it appeared there was no point in trying to escape.

The shadow cast over me from behind never disappeared.

On the contrary, it seemed to be getting even closer.

“Bark!”

“Squ- Squeak–Squueaaak!?”

My vision turned black, coupled with the sensation of my entire body being bitten.

“Bark!?”

A low voice growled, it seemed upset.

Apparently, it came from me.

Unlike before, my viewpoint was considerably higher.

However, I was still walking quadrupedally.

“…bark”

A crunching noise came from my mouth.

Based on the texture, it was similar to chewing on a combination of raw meat and hair.

The thick smell and taste of blood travels through my nose.

I instinctively want to spit it out straight away, but it actually wasn’t that bad.

I actually felt it was rather delicious.

As I looked down at the ground, I saw a small trail of blood in front of me.

More accurately, it looked like a rat’s tail had also fallen into the blood.

…with all the information I’d gathered so far, the answer was obvious.

Apparently, my consciousness switched from the rat being eaten, to the wolf.

A result of the concept of survival of the fittest.

> Symptom Discovered [Ferocity I]

> Symptom Discovered [Agility I]

> Symptom Discovered [Endurance I]

So there’s no problem if my host dies, my consciousness will simply continue to work as normal by switching to another infected entity.

The wolf was infected by preying up a rat carrying the virus, and had now given up his body to me.

Well, that’s the feeling I had anyhow.

The main body not dying after the host perishes is a common trope for characters with parasitic abilities.

That being said, being eaten was still terrifying.

It felt like dying.

It wasn’t something I wanted to experience too often.

(There was some verification needed on the physical side, but it was worth a shot)

This discovery was massive.

Realistically, it meant my stock of lives were infinite.

Undoubtedly this would have a tremendous impact upon my living in this new world.

Without needing to risk death, I was able to take even bolder steps.

Jeez, this is getting even more exciting.

This life– no, this viral life of mine was going to be the best.

I dominated the wolf’s body and resumed moving with a clearer mind.

<-Previous TOCNext ->

Published by Mio

Ask before you pick up my novels, k? My new Discord: https://discord.gg/AmkJTEnu76 Buy me a coffee desu~: https://ko-fi.com/century_orion

7 thoughts on “Ch. 2 – The Short Life of a Rat

  1. Gooⅾ day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this ѕite before but after going tһr᧐ugh
    some of the posts I realized it’ѕ new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely
    happy I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and
    checking back regularly!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started