Ch. 1, Part 3 – When I Reincarnated, I Became a Virus

When I regained consciousness, I was in the dark.

When I try to move, I notice there’s no sensation in my body at all.

In addition, my limbs and body aren’t visible for some reason.

Only the eyes seemed to float in the air.

(A black space after a white space…give me a break.)

This time it’s a really empty place.

I’m stuck because I can’t move.

While I was wondering what to do, a light shone forward.

The shimmering light looks like a flame.

(What is that?)

I pay attention to the light.

It is the only change in the darkness.

There must be a meaning to this.

When I concentrate my consciousness, I approach the light as if being sucked in.

Without being able to resist, I plunged into the light.

“――――!?”

At that moment, the vague physical sensation becomes a certain one.

A throbbing heartbeat.

I can also breathe.

I gently opened my eyes.

Dense trees are reflected in my field of view.

It also smelled of damp soil.

Apparently, I’m in the woods.

Sunlight shines through the cracks in the foliage above us.

(Where is this place?)

I’m confused because I’ve moved from place to place to who knows where.

Somebody, please give me an answer.

Even the beautiful woman who seemed to know the situation, didn’t give me a proper explanation at all.

I was only urged to stop the roulette.

Or rather, the view is strange.

For some reason, it was just above ground.

Moreover, I can’t stand well.

No matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t get up from all fours.

My height is about 170cm.

Even if it were all fours, it would be unnatural for the viewpoint to be so low.

When I found a puddle nearby, I decided to walk on four legs and check my current condition.

Hairy face.

Round ears and round, black eyes.

Its little nose was pointed upwards.

The front teeth peep out through the mouth.

What was reflected on the surface of the water was undeniably a mouse.

“Chuchu!?”
(T.N “Squeak, squeak”)

I poke the little grey mochi and was startled.

 A high pitched voice rang out.

Again, looking closely, I could still see a rat.

No doubt that this is what I am.

(Why do you look like this…)

 When I was stunned by the shocking event, an artificial announcement echoed in my brain.

>Acquired symptom【Domination I】

>Acquired symptom【Replication I】

>Acquired symptom【Infectivity I】

>Acquired symptom【Cowardice I】

>Acquired symptom【Danger Detection I】

I’\m already busy with an information overload.

My poor brain couldn’t handle it anymore.

However, it’s useless to give up here.

I have to find the answer somehow.

“Chuchu…”

I groan and think with the body of a mouse.

I was killed in an accident, and woke up as a mouse in an unknown forest.

If the theory of it being a dream is denied, a hypothesis is forms.

(Did I die and reincarnate…?)

It’s a crazy story, but I feel it makes sense.

The concept of reincarnation has appeared occasionally in games and manga I’ve seen in the past.

The reality is that as long as I have the body of a mouse, no matter how crazy the hypothesis is, it can’t be denied without thinking.

So I remember the roulette that was made by that beauty in the white space.

The result was a “virus”.

Looking back on it now, I wonder if it was something to decide on what kind of existence I would be reincarnated as.

(…No, that’s weird.)

I shake my head and move.

This body is a mouse no matter how you look at it.

It doesn’t look like a virus.

The virus must have not been a living thing in the first place.

(No, wait…?)

When I was about to deny it, I deepened my reasoning further.

I’ve come this far and understood somehow.

The mysterious announcement that was made in my brain just now was about symptoms and infectious abilities.

In other words, I was reincarnated into a virus and now I am taking over the consciousness of a rat.

Although I want to doubt my sanity, if I assume that there is such a parasitic ability, I can explain it for the time being.

Once I reached that conclusion, I could think of only one thing.

(A virus that can parasitize and manipulate the body is the best!)

I’m delighted.

I never thought I would be blessed with an opportunity like this.

How wonderful!

If you’re a salaryman and have lived a boring life, you will never taste it.

“Chu, chuchu!”

Because of the rat, I could not laugh satisfactorily.

But now, that’s fine.

This second life I got ahold of.

I will start from the bottom and live freely and happily.


A.N:

Thanks for reading!

We’re planning to update up to 3 chapters today.

I will do my best with updates every day, so thank you!



T.N: Please don’t expect regular updates. I’m only doing this as a hobby. I ‘m considering continuing this over at Kuhaku translations, the group that translated the WN for Parallel World Pharmacy and Magi’s Grandson. Thanks for reading this and I’m thankful for any support. – Mio, the Black Calamity

<-PreviousTOC Next ->

Published by Mio

Ask before you pick up my novels, k? My new Discord: https://discord.gg/AmkJTEnu76 Buy me a coffee desu~: https://ko-fi.com/century_orion

6 thoughts on “Ch. 1, Part 3 – When I Reincarnated, I Became a Virus

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started