Virus Tensei Kara Isekai Kansen Monogatari Ch. 10 – A Hobgoblin’s Extraordinary Ability

Seeing as the Orc was defeated, we continued hunting.

There had been an incident in which the Goblins accompanying me were creeped out, and thinking about it made me feel itchy.

It’d be better to reel them back to me with a good performance, and regain my dignity as their leader.

In order to do that, I’d need to hunt even more monsters.

I wanted to ensure that tonight’s meal would be massive.

I carried on walking with full enthusiasm, until I heard the rustling of leaves overhead.

It was around that time that [Danger Detection I] reacted.

(An enemy…!)

Jumping back from my position, a white thread-like substance flew to the spot I had been standing on.

It stuck to the ground, solidifying itself with a crackling noise.

What was this?

It was a good attempt at sneaking up on me.

I looked over in the direction in which the thread had been released. 

Between the trees lay a black and yellow striped Human-size Spider, hanging by a thread.

(That’s kinda creepy… uuwoh!?)

Threads shot toward us.

This time, I guarded with my sword.

A sticky, watery noise rang out as the mucus-like threads congealed together.

Was this a different type of thread?

Regardless, I couldn’t let it keep its distance.

The thread itself didn’t seem to have much kill potential, but if it wrapped around the face, you would struggle to breathe.

That would be a stupid way to die, and I didn’t feel like trying it out.

Shaking off the mucosal threads attached to the sword, I ran forward in order to close the gap.

Meanwhile, the Large Spider continuously spat out its threads.

It was pretty fast, getting hit just once would quickly lead to being covered in threads.

Predicting the trajectory, I avoided the thread with relative ease since it only ever flew in straight lines.

The Large Spider had begun to dexterously retreat back onto its web.

It seemed it didn’t like to fight in close quarters.

It was a reasonable approach, seeing as I couldn’t hit it properly while it stayed in the tree.

I swung my sword at the Large Spider travelling across its thread overhead.

(If that’s how it is, how about… this!)

Using the strength of my momentum, I threw the sword as hard as possible.

With the help of [Dexterity II], the whirling blade quickly caught up to the Large Spider.

However, the large spider, which had sensed the attack, evaded the sword as it flew past, tearing through the webbing.

Nice reactions.

I was hoping to have finished it off there and then, but it was nimbler than I had anticipated.

The large spider was formidable.

Standard Goblins and Hobgoblins couldn’t even compete with it.

They weren’t just a bad match, it was more like a natural enemy.

It would’ve been wiser to simply run away without fighting.

However, I would never reduce myself to something so pathetic.

“Don..’t …look, down… on… me!”

I began my approach run after kicking off the ground.

There was this feeling of floating, and by leaping, I closed the gap between us.

I wanted to beat it down, but unfortunately, I wasn’t close enough.

There was no reason to worry though.

I had gotten within the 2m range, and I sprayed the large spider with the virus.

> Symptom Discovered [Poison Resistance I]

> Symptom Discovered [Venom Fang I]

> Symptom Discovered [Presence Concealment I]

> Symptom Discovered [Magic Thread I]

The large spider’s pincers attempted to bite at me, and judging by the announcement, it was poisonous. 

Sounded like a bad idea to take that head on.

I bent my upper body, just barely avoiding the attack, and landed whilst rolling to dodge the threads coming in my direction. A tree nearby seemed suitable, so I hid behind it.

The Goblins, who had evacuated to a remote place earlier, began making noise.

The reason they weren’t helping was because they knew just how terrifying the Large Spider was.

They understood they’d be in danger.

It was fine. This decision had been made calmly.

After all, the game had already been decided.

Looking at the large spider in the tree behind me, I developed [Paralysis] in its body.

The Large Spider ceased moving, flipped over, and fell, crashing into the ground while twitching.

It squeaked out a few cries as it struggled to move its legs.

“This is, check…m…ate”

Walking leisurely, I looked to the Goblins behind me. One of the Goblins, understanding my intentions, threw an axe to me.

After I caught in one hand, I used the momentum to slam it into the large spider.

The blade bit into the round, swollen belly.

With just that single blow, the large spider died,  erupting its green bodily fluids.

(That was a little rough, but if I could’ve closed the distance then it would’ve been easy.)

Resting the axe on my shoulder, I exhaled. Thanks to the symptoms from the virus, my physical abilities improved, allowing me to move around without any issues.

I really felt like a hero.

I also gained a trait, which was rare.

Traits were abilities that affected the virus instead of the host.

The name was pretty self-explanatory, [Poison Resistance I].

Whether or not the Virus could be harmed by poisons was unclear at the time, but it probably wasn’t a bad thing to have.

From what I’d seen so far, traits don’t appear that often, so I should be happy.

Additionally, the new symptoms I had received were interesting.

For example, [Venom Fang I] left an uncomfortable feeling in my mouth when developed.

When I checked with a finger, my canines had become oddly sharp.

I see, they changed to allow the injection of venom when biting your opponent.

Next was [Magic Thread I], which was seemingly able to produce threads of various properties.

In the previous battle, three types had been used.

The thread that solidified, the thread that was sticky and the thread the Large Spider had used as a walkway.

To some extent, I could control the properties of the thread.

I had decided to try using the thread.

Applying some pressure to the fingertip caused a thread to fly off and stick itself to a nearby tree.

This technique could be used for performances.

I wasn’t too sure about the magical power of [Magic Thread I], but after using the thread, I felt as if the energy within my body decreased somewhat.

There was too little material to make a judgement, but I didn’t need to worry all that much.

Anyway, all I needed to know is that I finally had a valuable method of initiating ranged attacks. 

I supposed there were other uses too.

Firing a few strings was pretty fun.

If I used it too much the magic within my body would deplete though.

I thought of what settings I should use it in.

Taking everything into account, it was a more than adequate ability.

(…I should brag to these guys)

As I thought of showing off, the Goblins were surprisingly far behind me.

“Gugeei…”

“Guguge…!”

“Gugee, gugegee”

For some reason, they were whispering to one another.

Instead of being praised, I was being dragged.

The scene from earlier had just reappeared.

“Gugo…”

My shoulders slumped.

They didn’t need to say that much.

I just wanted to show off something I thought was interesting.

Pulling threads out of your fingers was pretty unique, even if you were in a fantasy world.

This body was a genuine, unremarkable Hobgoblin.

There wasn’t anything weird about it.

…it’s just infected a little by a cheat-like virus, that’s it.

<-Previous – TOC – Next ->

Published by Mio

Ask before you pick up my novels, k? My new Discord: https://discord.gg/AmkJTEnu76 Buy me a coffee desu~: https://ko-fi.com/century_orion

2 thoughts on “Virus Tensei Kara Isekai Kansen Monogatari Ch. 10 – A Hobgoblin’s Extraordinary Ability

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started