Virus Tensei Kara Isekai Kansen Monogatari Ch. 21 – A Deviated Perception

I stood at the counter, waiting for the employee to come back.

Meanwhile, the Adventurers in the room had begun whispering to one another in hushed tones.

Obviously, it was about me.

I didn’t need to listen to them to know that.

The gazes on my back began to sting, it felt like everyone in the building was watching me.

The situation felt extremely awkward, but I couldn’t turn back now.

(I just wanted to turn in the fur as quickly as possible, but something went wrong…)

At the unexpected development, I nearly let out a sigh.

Because I had already taken the product out, I couldn’t simply take it back anymore.

Maybe it would’ve been better to just run away before the employee returned.

To answer myself, of course I couldn’t, at least, I couldn’t if I ever wanted to show up in the guild again with this body.

I’d registered myself as an adventurer, but the process had been strange.

I felt remorse over pulling out the fur, since it’s what got me into this mess.

As I struggled to hide my inner thoughts with an innocent facade, the employee came hurrying back.

She spoke, making sure to keep her voice low.

“How did you acquire this fur?”

“I…defeated…it. …Is…that…a…problem?”

I would need to be honest here.

A poorly worded lie would make me stand out even more, and what I currently needed was trust.

To be more specific, it was the Goblins under my command who had dismantled it, but I couldn’t say that.

However, I didn’t lie to her, I kept myself honest.

“No, there’s no problem it’s just… Electric Bears are very powerful Demons, so to possess the ability to defeat one by yourself is…”

I finally understood from the appearance of the staff member who had been choosing her words carefully.

They were all doubting my ability.

It’s true that the Be- “Electric Bear” was a powerful enemy, and isn’t the type of monster that could be beaten by just anybody.

Even if you were to challenge it with a party, the problem of the lightning attacks and sheer power still remained.

To conclude, that’s why the employees and Adventurers nearby were so surprised that someone pulled out that fur on the same day they came to register.

If you think about it objectively, that was the natural reaction.

Well, I didn’t know that at the time, sorry.

Also, she had called it a “Demon” instead of a “Monster”.

Perhaps I should also adapt that into my speech, in the hopes of making any potential awkward conversations vanish.

Anyway, any deception here would be a bad idea.

In fact, claiming that more people were with me when I defeated the Electric Bear would be even more suspicious.

I’d have to change up my thinking.

I could no longer back away from this, so I had to press on with all my might.

I nodded my head, matter-of-factly.

“It…was…hard…but…I…was…able…to…defeat…it.”

I shrugged my shoulders as I feigned humility, and eventually the employee began to laugh.

“Fufu, that’s quite reassuring. You can sell the fur at the reception desk. Please go there whenever you acquire more Demon materials. This time, I’ll be taking it. This is the price we can offer you.”

“Thank…you…for…the…help.”

I received a large, heavy bag of coins.

The eyes of the adventurers immediately became sharper, so I quickly hid it away into my pocket.

I didn’t want to be picked out as an easy target.

Well, I would infect anyone hostile to me with the virus without any mercy, so I wasn’t exactly a saint.

If I felt as if someone was about to suckerpunch me, I’d deal with them.

I resisted the urge to leave the Guild, and headed towards the Tavern area that was attached to it.

There, I secured an empty table.

I would wait here until Elena arrived.

It’d make me seem a little bit like a stalker, but she was the first person I’d ever spoken with in this world.

She was a nice girl, so I genuinely wanted to meet with her again.

I ordered an appropriate drink from a busy waiter.

Drinking, as a Hobgoblin, would be a little troublesome while wearing a mask, but I could just leave the drink on the table.

As long as I was a paying customer, they wouldn’t complain if I idled.

Folding my arms, I held them tightly.

This was the time to act proudly, if I were to be seen as vulnerable, they would try and take advantage of that.

I’m an immortal virus.

I defeated the powerful, widely acclaimed “Electric Bear“.

I needed to gain a little more confidence in myself.

I was… just a bit nervous, but I would be patient.

Most of the Adventurers had very stern looking appearances.

Their auras were also a little different from the average person, which perhaps came with the territory.

To put it bluntly, I was scared.

However, if I were to get up and leave my seat, it was possible that I’d miss my opportunity to meet Elena again.

Steeling myself, I began turning my attention towards the Guild’s entrance.

<-Previous – TOC – Next ->

Published by Mio

Ask before you pick up my novels, k? My new Discord: https://discord.gg/AmkJTEnu76 Buy me a coffee desu~: https://ko-fi.com/century_orion

2 thoughts on “Virus Tensei Kara Isekai Kansen Monogatari Ch. 21 – A Deviated Perception

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started