Vending Machine Ch. 111 – Numbers and Strength

TL: After noticing this WN was dropped, I decided to pick it up myself and translate a few chapters, but ended up abandoning the project in favour of IRL matters and other hobbies. I’ll proceed to upload the chapters I have already translated.

btw I got absorbed in binge-reading another WN, the latest being “The Demon Prince Goes to the Academy”, as well as “Hellmode ~A Hardcore Gamer Becomes Peerless in Another World with Retro Game Settings~” and “Trash of the Count’s Family”.

Date of Translation: November 19, 2022

Because of the difference in individual strengths, we were able to push the fight forward, but the enemies kept coming at us to the point where I wondered if they were endlessly multiplying.
If the monster can be summoned immediately after it is defeated, then we will be at a disadvantage. No matter how strong you are, there is a limit to physical strength. It’s an all-out war now, so we can’t take a break and we’re getting exhausted.
By spending a lot of points, I thought about turning into a giant vending machine, but the ceiling here is too low. If I change, it will either collapse or crumble.

I’ve thought about scattering dry ice and filling the room up with carbon dioxide, but I have no idea how long it will take to fill a space the size of a baseball stadium.
Sprinkling gasoline and setting fires would be possible if I were alone, but now I would be getting my friends involved. Most of the combat methods I’ve tried so far have been sealed off.

The fact that a new enemy appears after you defeat it means that the opponent will be revived with full strength and no injuries.

Even with Mishael’s lethal power, breaking through the group of enemies and advancing deep into enemy territory is not possible. Even if they are cut down or blown away, the number of enemies decreases and increases. This is exactly what it means to be in a piss-poor situation.

“There’s no end to it! Roaring Blast!”


Oh, Mishael’s special move is blowing up. Let’s not make uncouth remarks about whether it really necessary to shout the name of the technique when activating it.
That attack was terrifying, turning nearly twenty monsters into burning charcoal. At that moment, I saw several lights appear at the same time in the back. Perhaps, new monsters were just summoned to replenish the monsters that were killed.
If the number of deaths increases in an instant, there is no chance of winning.
This means that the only way to win is to somehow defeat the commander or neutralize the enemy without killing it.
If it’s a way to neutralize it, I have an idea.

When I followed the person in question with my eyes, I saw a man who used a spiked iron ball attached to an iron rod and caving in the skulls of monsters. If it’s Hevoy, perhaps he could make the monsters hallucinate with magic that messes with their minds.
However, I had heard that he had hardly any magic power left because of his hallucinations branching out. I have to draw back once and wait until I’ve recovered before I consider sortieing again.
It’s another way to perform a direct attack on the commander. Blocked by a swarm of monsters, I don’t even know where the enemy I’m looking for is.
It’s probably near the wall far in the back, but it’s just speculation, so I can’t confirm. Or rather, there is no way to get there in the first place.
Like usual, I thought about performing a surprise attack from the sky with a balloon and cardboard combo, but the ceiling is too low and the probability of being shot down by the enemy is too high. It would be easier if I could get Lammis to throw me toward the wall, but I don’t think she would ever do it.
I guess I’ll just have to ask even if it’s in vain.

“Ra mu i su”

“You called? Oh!”

I’m sorry for talking to you when you’re busy in battle, but I have to convince you somehow.

“Ov er th ere”
“Pu sh”

When I pointed the mouth of the bottled juice towards the rear of the enemy line and explained, Lammis turned her head to the limit and gave me a sideways glare.
Let’s cover myself with [Barrier] so that it’s alright even if the battle is neglected.

“You want me to throw you over there. No way.”

I’m glad she immediately understood what I wanted to say, but she seemed to be angry with her cheeks puffed out.
Even though Lammis understands I’m sturdy, she still hates handling me roughly.
I know it’s her kindness, but in my case, I would be willing to wrap a chain around my body and swing it around as a weapon.
If I throw myself at the enemy with [Barrier] activated, it will pack quite the power and I will have the advantage of increasing the distance I can travel.

“Is it ha rd”

“Nah. I don’t want to treat Hakkon like a tool.”

The vending machine is like a tool, but Lammis sees me as an equal. I’m happy to hear that, but sometimes it’s okay to be strict.
I thought she had lost her dependence on me recently, she is still extremely afraid of me getting hurt. No, you are afraid that you will hurt me.

“Pu dy” (TL: Meant to say something like “buddy or partner” but a syllable is off)

I desperately want the pronunciation of “Bu”! There’s a limit to how sloppy it can get even with “Puddy”. I wanted to say “buddy”.

“Buddy……Pu, Ahahahahahaha! Yeah, we’re buddies.”

“Tha tis wh y”
“Tr ust me”

Setting the voice a little lower, I adjusted it so that it might be a little more persuasive.
Lammis bent down and dropped me off her carrier. Then, she grabs me between her hands and stares at me fixedly.
That serious look in her eyes, I get it.

“Let me say this as your buddy. No~”

“Uh”

Now, it felt like she was about to agree……

“What will you do if I throw you and the commander isn’t there? Hakkon can’t move. If the enemy keeps showing up, no one can pick you up, right?”

That’s right, but by spraying gasoline or kerosene on one side, I can turn it into a sea of fire.

“Maybe you’re thinking of starting a fire. But even if you do that, if the enemy appears from a different place, the fire’s in the way so we can’t get close, and who will protect our base?”

A failed gamble would leave Lammis isolated in melee combat, a disadvantage. It’s not that I hadn’t thought about it, but I couldn’t respond back after I was told off by the girl I’m supposed to protect.
Lately, things have gone according to my expectations, and I guess I was somewhat optimistic that everything would go well this time as well. I was considering the worst possible development.

“Hakkon. It seems you’re worried about us and being unreasonable towards yourself. Don’t you think so? You worry too much about me and won’t let me push myself.”

Ugh, she’s so sharp it’s like she’s reading my mind. It’s been like that since the first time we met. I lacked words to speak and could only speak fixed phrases, but she was always considerate of me.

“It’s the same for us. Just as Hakkon is worried about us, we don’t want Hakkon to get hurt.”

I see……that’s right. If I call myself her partner and do reckless things without Lammis taking on some of the load, it’s only natural to get angry.

“So rry”

“You don’t have to apologize. We are of the same mind. We are attack and Hakkon is defence. With the two of us, we can do anything!” 

“Y es”

The power to crush everything and a defence that is impervious to any attack Anything is possible with two people. Even now, that’s what we’ve always done.
I’ve got to get over trying to do things on my own. From now on, the two of us will work together and discuss how to win steadily without being reckless――

“So two people instead of one. We’ll do a suicide attack together!”

“Uh”

Wai, wait young lady? I don’t know what you’re on about. That’s way too extreme!
Before I could stop it, my body was blown forward. No, I jumped, or rather, Lammis kicked the ground with all her might and started running.

“Ohhhhhhhhhh”

I got on the back of Lammis, who was running seriously for the first time in a long while, but it’s hard to believe she was carrying me, who weighs hundreds of kilos, on her back.

“Eh,  Lammis-san, Master Hakkon!?”

Mishael, who had only looked back once to see if he had felt the presence of Lammis, who was approaching from behind with a furious momentum, now looked back quickly in a panic.

“Eh, eh, um, I’ll kick it off!”Immediately realizing we were performing a special attack, Mishael carried the greatsword on his shoulder, took a big step forward, and unleashed an all-out swing.
Instead of slashing sideways, a red light extends from the edge of the greatsword that is swung straight down vertically. The monsters that touched the red trail of light were split in two and were blown left and right in the aftermath of the attack.
In the middle of the horde of enemies, a charred, blackened path opened up.

“Master Hakkon, please proceed!”

No, no. Can you stop me!?

“Thanks, Mishael. As expected of Hakkon’s number one disciple.”

“No, that’s not true. Please do your best!”

Mishael, you look happy to be praised. He sees me off with a big smile on his face.
Lammis rushes in without hesitation……yeah, I’m feeling butterflies in my stomach!
Let’s take this seemingly reckless charge as proof of their trust in me. If this happens, the two of us have no choice but to find the commander and capture or defeat it.

“I’ll kick you away, Hakkon!”

“Ye ah”

If it’s isolated, we can fight it. Let’s have Lammis go on a rampage to her heart’s content.

<– PreviousTOC Next –>

Published by Mio

Ask before you pick up my novels, k? My new Discord: https://discord.gg/AmkJTEnu76 Buy me a coffee desu~: https://ko-fi.com/century_orion

One thought on “Vending Machine Ch. 111 – Numbers and Strength

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started