Virus Tensei Kara Isekai Kansen Monogatari Ch. 8 – Celebration

That evening.

The Goblins had begun gathering near the cave entrance and were making a lot of noise.

They looked as if they were having a great time.

At the center of the Goblin circle stood a large bonfire.

Numerous skewers of meat were being grilled, with the occasional popping of fat.

It was the meat from the Orcs that we had defeated earlier that day.

The fragrance was ridiculously appetizing, it really stimulated the senses.

It’s a monster based on a pig, so it held a lot of potential. 

Even if it looked weird on the outside, it looked delicious when chopped up like that.

The elated Goblins had surrounded me, offering skewers of Orc meat.

“Gugogo”

No doubt, it was good.

I couldn’t help but unintentionally leak my voice out.

The juices would ooze out the more you bit into it. 

It wasn’t too soft either, it had just enough crunch to it.

The taste was also excellent.

I was pretty sure the only seasonings they used were salt and herbs, why was this so good?

They realized the potential of the raw materials entirely.

While we enjoyed the phenomenal Orc meat, a group of armed Goblins had arrived.

They carried the carcasses of small animals, alongside their weapons.

I overheard that they were returning from a hunt.

I didn’t realize there other Goblins assigned that role besides the group which I had hitched a ride on.

Well, it’s not too surprising, given the sheer number of Goblins here.

“Gugii…?”

“Guge, Guge.”

The returning Goblins had been confused by the feast that lay in front of the cave.

Due to being in the forest during the Orc attack, they didn’t have a full grasp on what was happening.

After asking a companion nearby, they turned respectfully to me.

The Goblins, after giving me a brief report, returned to the cave.

Perhaps they didn’t want to interrupt me while I was eating.

They really do care about the smaller details, huh.

I didn’t know if I should’ve thanked them for that, but as they were leaving I spread the strengthened virus into them.

>Symptom Discovered [Secrecy I]

>Symptom Discovered [Evasion I]

>Symptom Discovered [Fatigue I]

>Symptom Discovered [Hunger I]

Oops, I received some new skills.

That was unexpected.

After infecting so many Goblins and not receiving anything new, I hadn’t considered this.

Since this was a group specialized for hunting, there would be a mixture of individuals with specialized skills.

But, [Fatigue I] and [Hunger I] probably didn’t fall into that category.

In any case, this had been an unexpected harvest.

So, why didn’t the first group I encountered have any special skills? They were probably just normal Goblins.

I guess it meant everyone was doing their best, even the non-elite.

As a result, I had been given their gratitude.

Following this, several groups of hunters had returned before sunset.

Each time they came to give a report, I made sure to infect them with the virus.

>Symptom Discovered [Nimble I]

>Symptom Discovered [Wayfarer I]  

>Symptom Discovered [Insight I]

I obtained more skills while I ate meat.

The announcements in my mind changed as I repeated the process.

>Symptom Discovered [Short Temper II]

>Symptom Discovered [Night Vision II]

>Symptom Discovered [Dexterity II]

Hmm, it was II now, instead of I?

Apparently, repeatedly receiving duplicate symptoms would give you an upgrade instead.

There was that feeling of the effects intensifying.

It seemed they worked exactly as it did at rank [I].

Consideration would be needed for the adjustment of the symptoms.

Right, right, this is good.

At the current rate, my repertoire would expand as I continued to upgrade my symptoms.

It would be useful, most definitely.

In high spirits, I bit into the Orc meat, but, I had an entirely unrelated question for myself.

(Come to think of it, can this body even speak the Human language?)

I’d completely forgotten to verify that.

This was the most important factor, if I couldn’t speak the language, it would be difficult to get into the city.

I attempted to whisper a greeting amongst the Goblin cacophony.

“Hu…llo, nai…ce, doo, me..ete y…ou”

Hm, it was kinda close.

But, it wasn’t like it was completely intelligible.

Could they be deceived with the explanation of it just being a ridiculously awful accent?

Honestly speaking, I think it’d be a very fine line.

(Maybe I could get away with it with some practice… right?)

If I was unable to get into the city this way, I’d just have to find a new body.

That seemed troublesome, so avoiding it would’ve been preferable.

The Hobgoblins body was quite convenient. 

As the Leader of a group, you could command all the Goblins under your control.

(…Let’s practice the pronunciation first.)

A smoother style of speech would’ve been a lot less strange.

I was doing all of this so I could see Elena again.

Even if you didn’t account for her, having a way to actually communicate would be Humans would’ve been lovely.

It wasn’t something that could be resolving immediately by relying on the virus, so instead I had opted to do it steadily.

With a new goal on my mind, I took another bite of Orc meat.

<-Previous – TOC – Next ->

Published by Mio

Ask before you pick up my novels, k? My new Discord: https://discord.gg/AmkJTEnu76 Buy me a coffee desu~: https://ko-fi.com/century_orion

2 thoughts on “Virus Tensei Kara Isekai Kansen Monogatari Ch. 8 – Celebration

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started