Virus Tensei Kara Isekai Kansen Monogatari Ch. 34 – Beginning the Exploration

Mio: I forgot to release this week, so here you go.

After some time spent within the rocking carriage, we arrived safely at the dungeon.

I’d assumed that one or two monsters would’ve appeared on the way there, but sadly, they didn’t.

The roads were apparently cleaned up rather quickly, due to how often they were used.

Getting off of the carriage, I rubbed my hips.

The road was unpaved, so it had been a very bumpy ride.

Although it wasn’t unbearable, it still didn’t feel good.

Thinking about how I’d need to ride one on that way back dampened my spirit somewhat.

“Uwa- Parazeet-san! It’s the dungeon! We’re finally here!”

Conversely, Elena seemed to be doing just fine.

I wanted to ask her where she gained such fortitude.

I figured that she was just so excited to finally take on a dungeon.

That said, maybe she was a little bit too energetic.

“Don’t tire, yourself out, before we, go in.”

“I know! I’ll be fine!”

Elena instantly responded to my comment.

Well, for now I’d just go along with whatever she said.

If we took regular breaks, then we’d be fine.

The dungeon itself was some sort of temple, built out of stone.

Moss grew from it slightly, indicating that it was indeed a very old building.

According to Elena, the dungeon was an “Underground Ruins” type.

She’d told me the main classification.

When I’d thought of a Dungeon, I had imagined a dark, underground area.

Several shops had set themselves up in front of the dungeon.

Looking at them, they seemed to be selling items that could be used during exploration.

There was even a map that detailed the internal structure of the dungeon.

This must’ve been where adventurers would make their final preparations, since it’d be troublesome to head back into town if you forgot something.

These businesses specifically targeted adventurers.

For the moment, I stuck with simply buying a map.

We were doing a test run, so I bought one that described the first three layers.

The shopkeeper had recommended it to me after I’d told him it was our first time going in.

According to him, the more expensive maps had various detailed sidenotes and covered even more of the layers.

They weren’t an option at the time due to the financial situation, so I put off buying one.

If I were to map the place myself then I could make do with just the pen and paper, but I was still unsure.

Leaving this kind of thing to a professional seemed like the safer bet.

(I thought it’d be straightforward, but three layers…)

According to the map, each floor was of a certain size.

The dungeon itself seemed to be quite big.

According to the map shop owner, the first three floors were indeed for beginners.

Those that gained experience would either dive deeper, or travel to a more difficult dungeon.

Maybe I’d try it out soon too.

There seemed to be a number of gimmicks, so the more of the virus I spread inside, the stronger I’d end up becoming.

The idea was quite exciting, sore of like that indescribable feeling of being in an amusement park.

Well, that was for later.

For the moment, I’d concentrate on the dungeon in front of us.

I had to support Elena properly, so I’d need to be enthusiastic about it.

Heading into the dungeon with gusto, immediately Elena and I came across a fork in the road.

It would become more complicated from here on out, which would be troublesome if we didn’t have a map.

Elena compared the map with the terrain, holding a lit lamp in her other hand.

“It doesn’t matter which way we go, but the middle road is the fastest for getting to the stairs that lead down lower.”

“Then let’s, go down, the middle.”

Answering her, I moved straight away with my sword at the ready.

I was conscious of Elena’s presence behind me, as even I could still be taken by surprise.

Well, I was using symptoms to improve each of my senses, so unless an enemy with strong stealth skills appeared, we probably would be okay.

Even though Elena was behind me with the lamp, it didn’t matter much as I had [Night Eye II].

The path was clearly visible to me.

The skills I’d gained from monsters were useful in all sorts of ways, I wanted to collect even more in the future.

The passage was quite cramped, giving this indescribable sense of being trapped at all times.

It was just barely wide enough for two people to walk side by side, so anyone wielding a large weapon would have a lot of difficulty.

After a whole lot of nothing happening, [Danger Detection II] and [Magic Perception I] finally reacted.

Something had finally shown up.

As I wondered with high expectations on what would come out, I looked ahead.

A Skeleton was approaching us, moving with a dry, clattering noise.

It approached us, axe in hand, with surprisingly light steps.

Despite being visually a skeleton, it gave the image of being alive.

“Th- That’s a Skeleton!”

Elena put away the map, unsheathing her blade while hanging the lamp onto her waist.

Perhaps the monster would require some caution.

It certainly felt strong when compared to something like a Horned Rabbit.

(A Skeleton, huh. These guys are pretty famous too…)

Within an instant, it felt as if I were in a dungeon.

It was a good start, and I was beginning to get excited.

Taking one look at the chattering jaw of the Skeleton, I charged forward with my sword readied.

<-Previous –  TOC – Next ->

Published by Mio

Ask before you pick up my novels, k? My new Discord: https://discord.gg/AmkJTEnu76 Buy me a coffee desu~: https://ko-fi.com/century_orion

2 thoughts on “Virus Tensei Kara Isekai Kansen Monogatari Ch. 34 – Beginning the Exploration

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started