Virus Tensei Kara Isekai Kansen Monogatari Ch. 33 – Heading for the Dungeon

Mio: Sorry for the late release. Here’s your chapter~



I asked Elena to give me a brief overview of the dungeon.

Dungeons refer specifically to special areas scattered around the world, where monsters of all kinds and treasure of all varieties are created.

Dungeons are designated as dangerous areas due to the spawning of monsters within them, but they also seemed to be valuable resources by the countries that housed them.

Little is known about the dungeons, how they work, or their origins.

There existed the theory that they are the work of the Gods, others say they’re planetary distortions.

One thing is for certain, they’re definitely mysterious, and the majority of people would treat them as simply natural phenomenons.

They were a subject of study by circles of scholars, while adventurers treated them as training grounds or a place to make money.

After hearing Elena’s explanation, I asked her.

“You want, to go, there?”

“Yes! There’s a beginner dungeon near the city. You can gain combat experience and sell the defeated Demon materials. Even if we don’t take any requests, we can still make a profit.”

Elena’s explanation had convinced me, that definitely sounded more efficient.

To live within a city, you would need to earn above a certain threshold of money.

Dungeon exploration appeared to be a major source of income for adventurers, so there was no harm in experiencing it for myself.

I nodded to Elena, who began to grow excited.

“Alright, then, let’s go.”

“Thank you so muchー! I’ve never been to a dungeon before! I really wanted to try it out someday.”

“You, couldn’t go, solo?”

As I asked, a slight sadness revealed itself in Elena’s expression.

“I was never good enough to work solo in a dungeon. If I went in by myself, I would’ve died in less than half a day. So, up until recently, I only chose the least dangerous requests. I do get into trouble sometimes though.”

Elena scratched her cheek, smiling bitterly.

The “Dungeon” seemed to be quite a dangerous place.

Well, it was high risk, high reward.

The issues Elena had referred to probably included the encounter with the Goblins, where I had first met her.

She had been collecting herbs when they had attacked her.

So even if she avoided the dungeon, there would still be danger regardless.

At that time, I was still a Wolf.

I felt nostalgic, even if it was only a little while ago.

The situation had changed considerably since that time, and now I wanted to live my life as it was.

Anyway, Elena and I decided to challenge the dungeon together.

I wanted to go after hearing the explanation, since exploring dungeons  was a unique appeal in other-world settings.

Naturally, I wanted to see one with my own eyes, and it was a great time to do so, as no doable quests were listed.

Leaving the Guild, we visited the street stalls in order to make small purchases that would be necessary for challenging the dungeon.

I didn’t know much about any of it, so I left all of it to Elena.

Along the way, I bought some medicinal herbs from the stalls and infected them with the virus.

> Discovered Symptom [Antidote I]

Damage that I took could be ignored, but this wasn’t the case for Elena, whom I was accompanying.

Not only the items, I would need to make the proper preparations too.

After all, she only had one life, unlike me.

I wanted to protect hers while we worked together.

While shopping, I gave Elena enough coins to seemingly cover two people’s worth of supplies.

I didn’t know the prices in detail, so I gave her what seemed appropriate.

It shouldn’t have been a small amount.

I owed her a lot, so it was okay to give her more than necessary.

The previous night, I   misappropriated funds from some rather unscrupulous fellows, so my wallet was heavy.

It was okay to spend this much.

Of course, I still needed to actually earn money.

The funds would run dry if I wasn’t careful, after all.

I didn’t expect that I’d need to work in this new world.

It made me a little sad to think about.

When you think about it though, it was pretty matter of fact.

Even from the perspective of a fantasy world, there was no change in the intrinsic values and principles of a society.

Living as a Demon in the forest didn’t have these types of worries, but I still wanted to live a civilized life.

“Eh!? This is way too much!”

Elena, who I had given the money to, was trying to return the money to me.

Apparently, I’d given her far too much.

I hurriedly explained to her.

“Its okay. I’m thanking, you, for teaching me, a lot of things. Just, take it.”

“If it’s like that… thank you!”

Elena smiled, bowing her head.

She must’ve thought that refusing me would’ve gone against what I’d wanted.

Quite the sensible child, indeed.

While money was essential for life in Japan, I’d never grown particularly attached to it.

I’d just need to earn it back, which fortunately wouldn’t be difficult if I made full use of my virus abilities.

If I were to order the Goblins inside of the forest, I felt they’d be able to hunt some monsters for me.

They could even spread across the forest to find medicinal herbs.

(…I thought that I’d have no use for them anymore, but those guys might be useable)

Since I had this body, I wondered if I should show my face to them every so often.

They’d all been loyal to me, and they’d even be reliable for a few things.

After we’d prepared ourselves, Elena and I headed to the outskirts of town.

We would be taking a horse-drawn carriage towards the dungeon, so I followed Elena as we watched people arriving and departing the carriage.

(So, now it’s a dungeon. Now I’m starting to feel like an adventurer.)

I could finally experience that feeling that I’d felt so many times within video games.

Reincarnating into this world was definitely the best thing that happened to me.

<-Previous –  TOC – Next ->

Published by Mio

Ask before you pick up my novels, k? My new Discord: https://discord.gg/AmkJTEnu76 Buy me a coffee desu~: https://ko-fi.com/century_orion

4 thoughts on “Virus Tensei Kara Isekai Kansen Monogatari Ch. 33 – Heading for the Dungeon

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started