Virus Tensei Kara Isekai Kansen Monogatari Ch. 28 – A Moral Virus

We killed a few more Horned Rabbits before returning to the guild. Sunset was approaching, so we used that as the indicator to finish up.

I possessed [Night Vision II], so I could act at night without any issues, but considering that I was accompanying Elena at this time, I didn’t have that luxury.

There was no point in continuing any further than this.

For a first subjugation request, this much would be enough.

The materials of the defeated monsters were laid out on the Guild’s reception counter in order to be exchanged for money.

Well, the only materials we actually had were Rabbit meat, horns and some Mole claws.

There was a limit to how much we could carry, after all.

I would’ve liked to have brought the Rock Mole’s skin, but as expected, it was way too heavy.

(I wish I could carry more…)

Until our reward had been calculated, I leaned against the reception counter and mulled over some thoughts.

According to Elena, there existed a bag that was able to fit more than you’d think by utilizing magic, which mid-ran and above adventurers would use to improve their earnings.

Such a fantasy item.

Everyone wanted one, but they were on the expensive end of things.

The wallet of a newbie adventurer just wouldn’t be able to afford it.

I had gained a new objective, so I needed to earn more money.

(No, if I hijacked the body of a rich Human, couldn’t I just get one straight away…?)

I almost yelled at myself for thinking of the idea.

How easy my life would be, it’d be much easier than trying to steadily accumulate money.

Having that fantasy-esque bag would make becoming an adventurer so much easier, what a great idea.

(…A little more common sense would be useful.)

I pulled myself from the brink of these depraved thoughts.

There were just some things you shouldn’t do, even if you could.

I was definitely imagining myself doing it, so I needed to be careful not to cross that bridge.

The abilities I had gained from becoming a virus were already very powerful.

If I wanted it, world domination would be an easy feat for me.

Wealth, power, honor, I could get any of it.

If I failed in the process, I could just start again, what could be better?

I was asking for more, despite already having a lot.

That’s why it was important to practice self-restraint.

If I began acting on all of my desire, I felt that one day I would simply stop being who I am right now.

Because of my all-encompassing power, it was very important for me to keep myself in check.

I wasn’t denying the abilities of the virus, it was just something I needed to control so as to not overdo it.

Since I’d come to a new world, I simply wanted to enjoy myself in a fun, carefree way.

(I wonder if the other people with cheat-line abilities worry about this kind of stuff…)

While thinking it over, I had been notified by the employee at the counter that our reward had been calculated.

“Thank you for your hard work. It’s quite amazing that the two of you are still just 6th ranks! Not only Horned Rabbits, but even a Rock Mole. Especially you, Parazeet-san, you registered just earlier today! We have high hopes for you in the future. I’m so glad Elena was able to find someone to take a  request with her!”

The Adventurers in the connected tavern reacted to the employee’s words with distant murmuring, watching us with various emotions.

It seemed that Rock Mole’s weren’t an easy opponent for newcomers, and they were reacting to that.

I found it a little late for that kind of thinking, considering what I’d done here during the daytime.

In actuality, anyone perceived as having a certain level of skill wouldn’t be looked down on here.

A fearsome reputation was a good thing in the Adventurer’s business.

After we received our reward, we secured a vacant spot in the tavern.

Although we’d attracted quite the amount of  attention, there were currently no hostile intentions.

“Today was a great day of adventuring! I feel so fulfilled!”

Elena said this, in a good mood.

Upon seeing the reward, her cheeks loosened before beaming into a full grin.

She had never gained this amount of money on a single request before.

While solo, the amount you could battle and the materials you could bring back were limited.

Becoming greedy and being surrounded by enemies would put you in a desperate situation.

Depending on the opposing party, you could only hope for a swift death.

Elena, who was new to adventuring, had already experienced this.

She was currently caught in the middle of a struggle, and I had the power to reach out and guide her along.

I wanted to be heroic in this new world, and for me, this was the best thing I could do.

<-Previous – TOC – Next ->

Published by Mio

Ask before you pick up my novels, k? My new Discord: https://discord.gg/AmkJTEnu76 Buy me a coffee desu~: https://ko-fi.com/century_orion

3 thoughts on “Virus Tensei Kara Isekai Kansen Monogatari Ch. 28 – A Moral Virus

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started