Virus Tensei Kara Isekai Kansen Monogatari Ch. 25 – Forming a Party

Elena asked for help with a joint request, which was quite sudden.

This was quite convenient, since it fulfilled one of my wishes.

I was wondering how to bring it up, but she had gone and saved me a lot of trouble.

First things first, I wanted to know the reason.

I didn’t know why Elena had come to ask me.

No matter how much I had helped her, the most common response would be to exchange gratitude, so I was quite surprised when she suddenly skipped a few steps.

As I hid those thoughts, I asked Elena in a straightward tone.

“Give…me…more…details.”

“I only became an adventurer a little while ago, but I’ve been struggling due to my weakness. I was good at working the fields, so I was confident in my stamina at least… but I wasn’t cut out as an adventurer.”

“All…the…adven…turers…you…met…were…lowlives…”

“That’s right. No one would invite me due to my weakness. It was hard to ask others for help because I knew I’d just drag them down, and…. the only people who would actually talk to me where the guys like the ones from earlier.”

Elena sadly told me her tale.

I’d heard some of it back when I was a Wolf, but now I could finally understand just how badly she had been treated.

I thought it would’ve been better if she’d just left and went to another city, but if the fundamental problem was her lack of competence, her troubles would just follow her.

“Despite this, Parazeet-san helped me. You’re really strong, and kind, and I know it’s rude to ask you for help after we just met. But, even if it’s just one time, I don’t want to be a nuisance anymore, I want to learn how to fight!”

After saying that, Elena bowed her head deeply.

Straightforward, and full of enthusiasm.

A single-track mind that left a good impression.

That’s why I felt troubled.

(When it comes to fighting, I’ve just been relying on my abilities as a virus…)

In terms of actual technique, it was possible that I was inferior to Elena.

I’d only been in this world for a short amount of time, maybe I would’ve picked up some form of martial arts if I knew it’d come to this.

After reminiscing over my old sedentary lifestyle, I responded to Elena.

“It’s…okay…if…you…want…to…do…a…request…with…me… …I…don’t…have…many…techniques…though… …Mostly…just…magic…tricks…”

“That’s fine! Subjugating monsters is difficult to do alone, so I’d be grateful just to fight with you.”

I recalled that Elena struggled against three Goblins.

With that level of ability, it’d just be careless to take a detour.

Under normal circumstances, she could bring a friend to help cover for her, but in this case, I couldn’t hope for that.

As a result, she couldn’t acquire any experience and was forced to act alone in this manner.

Truly a vicious cycle.

Feeling pity for Elena’s circumstances, I opened my mouth.

“In…that…case, I…accept. Having…someone…else…around…would…benefit…me…too.”

“Parazeet-san… thank you so much!”

Elena began welling with tears of joy.

She wiped her face with her arms vigorously, grabbed the menu list and showed it to me.

“Okay, Parazeet-san! Please order anything you’d like! I’ll pay for it!”

Saying this, Elena began to concentrate seriously on choosing her meal.

Perhaps this was a thank you for saving her from those men.

I’d forgotten about that.

Since I saved her of my own volition, she didn’t need to be mindful.

However, I wouldn’t turn down her good intentions.

Since she was offering, I decided to take her up on it.

Elena asked the waiter for the daily special, and I ordered a sandwich-esque bread which could be carried around with me.

I’d be sneaking my portion away to eat it at home later.

I couldn’t expose my face, or everyone would know I was a Hobgoblin.

If they discovered me in their streets, I’d be killed instantly.

Elena peered over at me with curiosity.

“Aren’t you going to remove your helmet?”

“I…suffered…a…terrible…injury. …The…way…I…speak…is…also…due…to…this.”

“Is that so… I’m sorry to have asked you about something so difficult to discuss.”

Elena slumped her shoulders sadly, and I shook my head to ease her worries.

“…You…don’t…need…to…apologize. …I…don’t…mind, …honestly.”

“You’re so kind, Parazeet-san…. thank you.”

Shortly afterward, the food we had ordered arrived.

Elena’s meal was a set of meat, salad, bread and soup. It looked pretty good, despite the simplicity.

Honestly, I was hungry too. I wanted to eat the same meal she had.

(If I weren’t a Hobgoblin, I’d be able to eat without any precaution…)

I mulled over wanting to be Human again as I packed away the fresh sandwiches.

<-Previous – TOC – Next ->

Published by Mio

Ask before you pick up my novels, k? My new Discord: https://discord.gg/AmkJTEnu76 Buy me a coffee desu~: https://ko-fi.com/century_orion

2 thoughts on “Virus Tensei Kara Isekai Kansen Monogatari Ch. 25 – Forming a Party

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started